

Published on University of Toronto Faculty Association (https://www.utfa.org)

**<u>Home</u>** > Pension Committee

## **Pension Committee**

This committee advises Council on all matters related to pension.

## The role of the UTFA Pension Committee:

UTFA holds a permanent seat on the University Pension Plan's (UPP) Employee Sponsor Committee (ESC) and maintains a permanent right to appoint a trustee on the Board of Trustees.

UTFA's ongoing governance role shall be supported by an UTFA Pension Committee whose role includes:

- 1. Normally meeting at least three times per year.
- 2. Consulting with and advising the ESC representative and UTFA Council on any changes to benefits levels or contribution rates, and on any other UPP business, as appropriate, including the development of documents related to the UPP.
- 3. Implementing the UTFA-Council approved appointment processes (i.e., the recommendation, evaluation, and removal of current and future members of both the ESC and the Board of Trustees).
- 4. Consulting with and advising the VP, SBPW on any other pension matter, including any matter related to the Supplementary Account Plan.

## **Terms of Reference**

<u>Processes for ESC Representative Appointment and Renewal</u>
<u>Process for Trustee Appointment and Renewal</u>

Chair: Lisa Kramer

<b>Committee Members</b>	Constituency
Erica Allen-Kim	Daniels Faculty of Architecture, Landscape, & Design, UTSG
Joseph Carens	Emeritus Professor, Department of Political Science, UTSG

Paul Downes Department of English, UTSG

Rob Gillezeau (ex-officio) UTFA Treasurer, Management, UTSC

Lisa Kramer (chair) Finance, Department of Management, UTM

Alexandra MacKay Finance, Rotman, UTSG

Jan Mahrt-Smith Finance, Rotman, UTSG

James Mason Music Library, UTSG

Jun Nogami (ex-officio) Interim Vice-President, Salary, Benefits, Pensions and Workload, UTSG

Joseph Thywissen Department of Physics, UTSG

Terezia Zorić (ex-officio) UTFA President, Social Justice Education, OISE, UTSG

The Chair of the UTFA Pension Committee is Lisa Kramer, originally appointed at the September 21, 2022 Council meeting, then re-appointed at the November 23, 2023 Council meeting for a term ending December 31, 2027.

Source URL (modified on Apr 14 2025): https://www.utfa.org/content/pension-committee